Graceling

I genuinely stayed up all night long reading Graceling by Kristin Cashore so I’m definitely going to have to reread to make sure that I wasn’t completely delirious for the end, but I’m going to just assume I wasn’t and say that this was a fantastic book.  It brought me back to my middle and high school days of obsessing over any and all books written by Tamora Pierce and Robin Mckinley. I felt like my high school self all over again rooting for a super badass girl hero while reading and falling asleep afterword fantasizing about living in her world, overcoming great odds, and becoming best friends with her.

51EPZ5WoptL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

The story has all my favorite elements a girl power attitude, magic, evil kings, no nonsense mentors, a rejected proposal (I got a taste for this when reading Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede, which is totally worth looking up) Handsome boys who understand that a girl needs her freedom, and a plot that keeps me turning the pages until 4:30 in the morning.  It’s a page turner with some very clever twists.  I haven’t anything bad to say about this book.  I only wish I had discovered it while I was in high school because while I enjoyed it thoroughly now, I would have geeked the freak out if I had read it back then.  Apparently there are a few more that are written in the same world and I can’t wait to read them.  They are focused on different characters, characters that were introduced in Graceling.  It will be interesting to see the world from a new perspective and in a different time.  I’ll start earlier in the day to avoid the whole staying up all night thing.

P.S. I keep a commonplace book (think Pinterest for quotes on paper) so if I have entries in my commonplace book I’ll include them here as well!

Commonplace book entry under Power category:

“She began to have a conception of a power that spread like a bad feeling, like a sickness itself, seizing all minds that it touched.”

-Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Leave a Reply

