All I Know Now

While reading All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher I tried to bring myself back to my teenage years.  Filled with hormones, self doubt, friendship drama, family drama, and no idea how to handle it all.  It was always difficult if not impossible to see that every other person my age was going through the same problems, but, for the most part, we were all too caught up in self consciously trying to act like there were no problems to take a deep breath and help each other out.  Carrie’s book is chalk full of advice that I wholeheartedly support, agree with, and kind of wish I had when I was a teen.

51MkwmT8tUL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I knew the premise of the book before going into it but I don’t think I really understood how geared towards teens it truly was going to be.  It’s perfect for that purpose, but as I was reading some of Carrie’s advise and personal stories, I found myself thinking, “Yeah, seriously, I learned that lesson when…”.  Which speaks to the fact that the advice she gives is very sound and realistic.  It is a book that you can easily skip to the section that you need the most help with and just read that instead of reading it cover to cover.  Though I would recommend reading cover to cover as well because even if the advice is something you already know, it’s kind of nice to know that you’re not the only one who learned some lessons the hard way.

If you’ve ever seen any of Carrie’s Youtube video’s you can expect a very similar tone and style.  She’s a positive force online and this book furthers that.  As much as I hate to say it there are people that come across as aggressively happy, or perhaps unrealistic in their expectations for happiness.  When something horrible happens it’s ok to feel horrible about it and Carrie acknowledges that.  She’s not faking happy or ignoring hurt she just tries to find positive ways of dealing with sadness and pain.  Which isn’t a skill people are born with.  It’s tough to remain positive and it’s encouraging to know that people like Carrie exist to set a great example.

Reading her book as a twenty four year old reinforced some of my beliefs about how to behave and handle tough situations (excuse me while I give myself a high five).  I can’t think of a single piece of advice she gives that I disagree with and I would definitely recommend All I Know Now for teenagers and preteens.

Leave a Reply

