Why Not Me?

I’ve said it before and I’ll probably say again, I’m a sucker for autobiographies, especially when I know the person through TV shows as great as The Office and The Mindy Project.  I’ve long thought Mindy Kaling is funny and I remember enjoying her first book Is Everybody Hanging Out Without Me? so I was excited to hear what she had to say In Why Not Me?

41C+ffCh5dL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Like Mindy’s first book, Why Not Me? reads like a series of essays.  She even included a speech she gave at for Harvard Law School and a section entitled A Perfect Courtship in My Alternate Life in which she shows us what would have happened had she become a Latin teacher.  This book just confirmed and reiterated what I already knew, which is Mindy Kaling is super funny.  There were actual laugh out loud moments which does not happen a lot with books.  She has a distinct voice and because I’ve seen her on her various television shows the entire book was, in my head, narrated in her actual voice.

It is always interesting to me to see how personal people get in their autobiographies.  Some people love to dish about all the gossipy things that have happened in their life and some people are so reserved that their autobiographies read more like a list of well known facts about their life.  Mindy toes the line.  She writes like it’s a conversation and while she never reveals anything scandalous (I’m not going to lie there is a horrible tiny part of me that always kind of hopes I’ll discover something…most of me feels guilty about that.) she does write about some relationship stuff that feels pretty personal.  When I say relationship stuff I mean romantic, of course, but I also mean friendships.  She has a piece on her complicated relationship with B.J. Novak, one on her romantic relationship with someone in the white house (not Obama…or maybe it is.  You’ll have to read the book to find out), and one on a friend that ditched her.

Why Not Me? was a fun quick read that,  for me, added to how awesome I think Mindy Kaling is.  Throughout she was relatable while acknowledging that because she’s famous there are parts of her life that simply won’t be relatable at all.  Also she confirmed for me that actors and actresses secretly enjoy having to make out with each other for their job.  Was that a spoiler?  I don’t think so…I think you probably already suspected that too.

Leave a Reply

