The Raven Boys

I went into The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater with absolutely no idea what to expect.  I’ve never read anything by her before and the only reason I knew about her was because she was one of the authors at NerdCon.  Thank goodness for NerdCon because this is the third book that that conference can take credit for me eating up and wanting more.  There are awesome ladies with psychic powers, wealthy boys with an interest in magic and the ability to get a helicopter on a days notice, the promise of a death kiss, and some very rich and complex characters, how could I not be totally hooked?

51zb1Ggd5VL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This is the type of book that high school me would have been totally obsessed with.  Grown up me (well kind of grown up me) still loves it but the hormones have settled a bit by this point so I’m less obsessive about it.  The Raven Boys  was a quick read, but it was the type of quick read that I’m sure if I go back and reread it I’ll catch something I may not have caught the first time round because it is so jam packed with story lines, characters, and intrigue.

Since it’s the first in a series it definitely has an introductory feel to it.  I’ve found sometimes books that are the first in a series get too involved in introducing all the  characters and plot lines and forget that there needs to be a story within the book as well.  Stiefvater manages to introduce a whole new world of characters all the while keeping me on the edge of my seat about what’s going to happen next.  The first half was little frustrating to read because it felt like there were more stories happening than I could possibly keep track of.  Towards the middle of the book the story lines all started to come together and pushing through the frustrations of all the story lines was worth it because it made me so much more emotionally invested in all of the characters.

The book switches perspectives between most of the Raven Boys, Blue (which is the name of a character.  I’m pretty sure celebrities read this book to find the creative baby names they all seem to use. Lookin’ at you Jay Z and Beyonce.), and one of their teachers.  Switching perspectives was a particularly good idea for this story because Blue starts off with some prejudices against the Raven Boys that could have colored them in a way that made them completely un relatable.  As it was I often found myself so emotionally invested in all the characters that I didn’t even know what I wanted to happen.  I just wanted them to all lay everything on the table and walk happily off into the sunset.  Alas, books rarely seem to offer that.

I am very excited to read the rest of the series.  Within a series the second book is always a little bit more telling of whether or not I’ll like the whole series because the introductions are over.  It’s all story and tension and after the first book in The Raven Cycle series there are a lot of loose ends that I’d like to be tied up.

4 thoughts on “The Raven Boys

Leave a Reply

