Saga: Volume Three

I know what you’re thinking, “Didn’t you JUST write a post about Saga: Volume One then almost immediately after write a post about Saga: Volume Two?  Maybe take a break from the Saga series?”  And to you I say “Never!”.  Actually this installment, Saga: Volume Three, will probably be the last of the Saga series I read for a little while because I just started up with school again and I’ll be a tad short on time.  I’m anticipating using the readings I do for my classes as part of this blog. So you can still expect a bookish post every Monday but there’s a chance I’ll be exploring the aspects of the reading that we explored in class partly to make sure I fully understand it and partly because professors just talk about the most interesting things.  Why would I stray away from the interesting?  As usual, if you haven’t read Vol. One and Vol. Two anticipate spoilers ahead. Go read them. Now.

Saga_vol3-1

Saga: Vol. Two left us with quite the cliffhanger.  Our favorite little family was stuck in the attic of Mister Oswald Heist’s house where they’d been staying for a week while the Prince Robot IV was waiting for them to show up.  Talk about a cliffhanger right?  Well, hold on to your seat because Volume Three embraces the flashback and tells us what happened during their week stay at Mr. Heist’s house and ends just after Vol. Two ended.  I like this utilization of the flashback.  There were some more down moments with the family that were important characterization moments and gave the plot a direction to point in but it was all up in the air regardless because as a reader I knew they were in for a confrontation.

On the tracking the family down end of things we’re introduced to two new characters.  Upsher and Doff, journalists trying to figure out exactly what happened and determined to tell the truth about it.  This adds a couple of elements to the story that I like.  It puts a lot of moral pressure on the two governments tracking the down and pinpoints exactly what the motivations are for each.  It also is a genius way to get the readers more information on the backgrounds of Alana and Marko.  Upsher and Doff know exactly as much as the reader, if not less, so when they discover new information, we do too.

On the The Will end of things the story gets a bit trippy.  Literally, The Will, Gwendolyn, and the little girl end up on a planet and something is almost immediately off.  I like that a driving force for The Will and Gwendolyn is love.  They aren’t just the bad guys tracking down the good guys and trying to kill them.  They’re in a tangled mess of heartbreak that can be easily manipulated towards revenge.  That’s a relatable feeling.  Forgive and forget is practical advise for people that don’t have the resources for revenge when they’re caught in the wretched task of trying to mend a broken heart.  Many people, given the opportunity for revenge, or even just confrontation, would jump at it.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned much about the artwork in my last posts.  This is mostly because I am no art aficionado.  I’m not able to speak all that eloquently on the style of art in this series but I will say I enjoy it a lot.  I did a little research and from what I understand Fiona Staples, the artist, does not like drawing tech heavy things which has influenced the direction of the story.  The ship that Alana and Marko use, for example, is a tree because she preferred drawing something natural.  I really think this is part of what I love about the story.  I can recognize and relate to nature, I can’t say the same for a great big, techy, metal spaceship.  It’s a point of connection that is subtle and really makes the series whole.

 

Leave a Reply

