Revival, Volume One: You’re Among Friends

I love feeling like I’m on the in of any situation but this is especially true while I’m reading. Revival, Volume One: You’re Among Friends by Tim Seeley and Mike Norton is set in and around the area I grew up in. Thank goodness I read it in the quiet of my own home because I spent most of the book exclaiming, “Oh I know where that is I’ve been there!” I must say it is a tad disturbing to picture my childhood home zombie infested, though with this story “infested” may not be the right word. These zombies are different from you’re Walking Dead type zombies and they’re only in Northern Wisconsin’s Wausau area.

revival-vol1-web

I’ve never been super into zombie stuff. For the most part I’ve had a take ’em or leave ’em attitude in the direction of zombie books, tv shows, movies and theories. I was mostly drawn to this story because a friend recommended it to me after finding out I’m from the Wausau area. I’m never one to turn my nose up at a book recommended by a friend and, as mentioned above, I love being in the know while reading. I think, perhaps, this series may change my feelings on zombies. These aren’t your brain craving, dumb, ruthless, killer zombies (don’t be fooled by this statement there is plenty of violence and killing in this particular zombie story). No, these zombies are people come back alive confused, sad, and traumatized.

What I really appreciate about this story is its focus on the small town people. Since the zombies are only appearing in the Wausau area there is, of course, a mass of people that are trying to get into the Wausau area while the people in Wausau are just trying to figure out what’s going on. There is a sense of “yes there are zombies, but I’ve got to go to work now” that rings so true to me. For instance one of the main characters, Dana Cypress, is a police officer and in charge of investigating the zombies, but she’s also a mom and has lived in the area her whole life, and really wants to impress her dad, and is worried about her little sister. This isn’t a story where the world is completely dramatically changed, this is a story in which one element is changed and life must go on. Old problems still exist next to newly revived dead people.

This was a sort of slow start to the series, but I think that’s because it’s setting up the relationships for us. This is an investigative story. We’ll find out more about the zombies with the people in the story, but I’m even more excited to stay in touch with those characters. Their relationships with each other and the revived bring up interesting questions and conundrums that I imagine can only be worked out in an exciting and dramatic ways.

Keep reading. Keep learning. Keep listening. Keep creating.

Leave a Reply

