Milk and Honey

Almost every time I go back to read a poetry book I’m reminded how much I love reading poetry. Upon cracking open Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur I was reminded not only how much fun it is to read poetry but how wildly emotional it can be. You may notice at the end of this post I do not include any common place book entries. This is because after reading the first few poems I realized I’d be copying the entire book into my common place book. So, instead of retyping it all below I chose just one short poem to share with you. Hopefully that will be enough to exemplify why I loved this collection of poems so much.

23513349

What struck me most about Milk and Honey was how deeply personal and honest the whole book was. Each poem is a practice in empathy. When Rupi Kaur writes that “when my heart is broken/ i don’t grieve/ i shatter” she isn’t just telling the reader about her broken heart, throughout that entire poem she has built up to the moment in which the reader can feel shattered with her. Honestly, this is what I look for in all art. I see it as a chance to step into another perspective. If the artist is willing and able to make themselves so vulnerable and open that for a few moments I feel that our stories are the same, then the artist has done important and valuable work. It is difficult to be vulnerable enough so that close friends and family feel what we’re feeling; which is why it’s so much more impressive that Rupi Kaur has been so successful in offering her work to the world.

I would like to take a moment to appreciate how Rupi Kaur formatted the whole book. It’s split up into four sections, The Hurting, The Loving, The Breaking, and The Healing. Because the poems hold the readers hand through hurting, loving, breaking, and healing it was very wise of her to end the experience with a collection of healing. It does not diminish the hurting, the breaking, or even the loving but it leaves the reading on a hopeful note with a looking forward feeling. Given the emotional and sometimes traumatic nature of the poems, particularly in the hurting and breaking sections, the reading experience would have been very different had it been presented in a different order. As it is, Rupi Kaur gently pulled me through a lifetime of hurts and healings and left me hoping for more.

 

“you were so afraid

of my voice

I decided to be

afraid of it too”

Milk and Honey, the hurting by Rupi Kaur

Keep reading. Keep learning. Keep listening. Keep creating.

 

 

Leave a Reply

